2017 New Investigator Travel Award Winners

We are pleased to announce that The Society for Thermal Medicine, with funding from the Jayne Koskinas Ted Giovanis Foundation for Health and Policy, is providing travel grants to 15 New Investigators to encourage participation at the 2017 STM annual meeting.

Awardees will receive a $500 travel grant and registration to the meeting.

Travel Awards recipients are based upon a competitive evaluation of their submitted abstracts and New Investigator Award applications.

2017 STM New Investigator Travel Award Winners

Dr. Hale Arca  
Novel Photo-induced Chemotherapy Delivery Matrix for Support of Abdominal Organs following Cytoreductive Surgery
Wake Forest School of Medicine              
Winston Salem, North Carolina

Dr. James Barnett           
Temperature-dependent activation of DNA damage repair in human colorectal cancer cells           
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine      
Baltimore, Maryland

Dr. Steven Brousell         
Synergistic Immuno-Photothermal Nanotherapy (SYMPHONY): A Novel Treatment for Localized and Metastatic Bladder Cancer
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina

Ms. Juliana Cano-Mejia

Prussian blue nanoparticle-based photothermal therapy combined with checkpoint inhibition for photothermal immunotherapy of neuroblastoma 
University of Maryland 
Hyattsville, Maryland    

Dr. Bingbing Cheng         
Development of a remote acoustic sensing safety mechanism for biofilm eradication using alternating magnetic fields               
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center            
Dallas, Texas     

Ms. EunYoung Koh         
Development of the thermosensitizer for maximizing cancer treatment efficacy with the radiofrequency-induced hyperthermia   
Jeonbuk National University       
Jenonju-Si, Jeollabik-Do
Republic of Korea

Dr. Satya VVN Kothapalli
Identification of clinical MR-HIFU hyperthermia treatment sites through validation of MR thermometry accuracy and precision in healthy volunteers 
Washington University in Saint Louis      
Saint Louis, Missouri      

Ms. Jessie Lee   
Compact Ultrasound Applicator for Hyperthermia Treatment of the Transgenic Adenocarcinoma Mouse Prostate Model (TRAMP) with MR Thermometry in a 14T MRI Scanner      
University of California San Francisco      
San Francisco, CA            

Dr. Jason Molitoris          
Radiation Therapy plus External Thermal Therapy Results
in Modest Toxicities with the Promise of
Increased Efficacy: A Single Institutional Experience  
University of Maryland Medical Center 
Baltimore, Maryland      

Mr. Anjan Motamarry   
In vivo fluorescence imaging predicts drug uptake for temperature sensitive liposomal doxorubicin
Medical University of South Carolina       
Charlestom, South Carolina         

Dr. Imalka Munaweera 
Temperature-Sensitive Liposomal Ciprofloxacin for the Treatment of Biofilm on Prosthetic Joint Implants using Alternating Magnetic Fields   
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center            
Dallas, Texas     

Mrs. Arlene Oei
Hyperthermia affects both BRCA2-proficient and
BRCA2-deficient cell lines

Department of Radiation Oncology, AMC                             
The Netherlands

Dr. Elizabeth Sweeney  
Eliciting immunogenic cell death using Prussian blue nanoparticle-based photothermal therapy and the implications for cancer therapy          
Children’s National Health System           
Washington, DC

Dr. Li Tian           
Co-delivery of nanoparticulated NVP BEZ-235 decreases cell proliferation of irreversible electroporation treated xenograft           
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center      
Houston, Texas

Dr. Bettina Weigelin       
Activating serial killers of cancer cells: Hyperthermia as supporting strategy for cancer immunotherapy
MD Anderson Cancer Center     
Houston, Texas

© 2024 Society for Thermal Medicine   
Contact Us: stm.ks@kwglobal.com
Tel: 1-785-289-2056
Business Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30am-4:30pm Central Standard Time (USA)