Keynote Speakers

Dr. Catherine Bollard, MBChB, MD, FRACP, FRCPA, Bosworth Chair for Cancer Biology and Director of the Center for Cancer and Immunology Research at Children’s National Hospital. Dr. Bollard is a world-renowned pediatric hematologist-oncologist with bench and translational research focuses on improving outcomes for patients after hematopoietic stem cell transplantation and on the development of novel cell therapies for cancer and virus-associated diseases.

Title of talk: Advancing Cell Therapies for Cancer

Dr. Alda Tam, MD, MBA, FRCPC, FSIR, Professor in the Department of Interventional Radiology at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. Dr. Tam is an inducted fellow of the Society of Interventional Radiology and maintains an active interventional radiology practice with involvement in both translational and clinical trials.

Title of talk: TBD

37th Annual Society for Thermal Medicine Meeting

One of the best ways that STM members come together is by participating in our annual meeting. In 2022, this event will be virtual and take place May 1 - 4, 2022.The meeting will be interactive in real-time so STM members can engage with the speakers and foster good dialogue. All presentations are recorded so Society members can enjoy this content. The meeting will be offered at a discounted rate for STM members, and available for a fee for non-members wishing to participate. STM is excited about this virtual event format that allows thermal medicine researchers from across the world to connect and actively participate!

Some of the exciting topics for the 2022 event will include:

- 2 Keynote Speakers
- Ablation
- Computational Modeling
- Immunology and thermal medicine
- Magnetic hyperthermia
- Nanoparticles
- Treatment planning
- Cryotherapies
- Clinical hyperthermia outcomes
- Thermal modalities for treating brain tumors
- Focused ultrasound
- Grant writing and job searches
- Scholar-In-Training Symposium for Young Investigators

Thank you to our sponsors!

If you would like to be a sponsor, please see our Prospectus HERE.
Questions? Please contact

Platinum Level Sponsors

Gold Level Sponsors

Silver Level Sponsor

Friends Level Sponsors

Supporting Level Sponsors


2022 Program Chair

Rohan Fernandes, PhD
STM Vice President
2022 Meeting Program Chair

George Washington Cancer Center
George Washington University
800 22nd Street NW
Washington, DC 20052

Planning Committee

Program Chair: Rohan Fernandes, PhD, The George Washington Cancer Center

Corporate Relations & Fundraising Chair: Zeljko Vujaskovic, MD, PhD, University of Maryland

Joan Bull, MD, UT Health McGovern Medical School

Randy Burd, PhD, Long Island University

Rajiv Chopra, PhD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Erik Cressman, MD, PhD, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Hans Crezee, PhD, Academic Medical Center Amsterdam

Colleen Crouch, PhD, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Chris Diederich, PhD, University of California San Francisco

Mark Dewhirst, PhD, DVM, Duke University Medical Center

Steven Fiering, PhD, Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth College

David Fuentes, PhD, The University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center

Michael Graner, PhD, University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine, Department of Neurosurgery

Robert Griffin, PhD, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Dieter Haemmerich, PhD, Medical University of South Carolina

Mark Hurwitz, MD, Thomas Jefferson University Hospitals

Robert Ivkov, PhD, Johns Hopkins University

Samir Jenkins, PhD, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Nicole Levi, PhD, Wake Forest School of Medicine

Alireza Mohammad Mohammadi, MD, Cleveland Clinic

Arlene Oei, PhD, Academic Medical Center Amsterdam

Punit Prakash, PhD, Kansas State University

Elizabeth Repasky, PhD, Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center

Hattie Ring, PhD, Center for Magnetic Resonance Research, University of Minnesota

Dario Rodrigues, PhD, University of Maryland, Department of Radiation Oncology

Jason Stafford, MD, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Paul Stauffer, MSEE, CCE, Thomas Jefferson University

Elizabeth Sweeney, PhD, George Washington University

Jennifer Yu, MD, PhD, Cleveland Clinic

Christopher Lapine, STM Business Manager, Allen Press, Inc.

© 2024 Society for Thermal Medicine   
Contact Us:
Tel: 1-785-289-2056
Business Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30am-4:30pm Central Standard Time (USA)